District identifies high-performing principals to lead new ACE schools


Dallas ISD has identified the high-performing principals who will lead the district’s six new ACE schools next school year.

The district launched the ACE program, which stands for Accelerating Campus Excellence, last school year at seven historically low-performing schools. The program helps boost student achievement by staffing the highest-need schools with high-performing principals and teachers.

After just one year, six of those schools met state standards this year, and all seven campuses have shown significant improvement in student achievement. The district is looking to build on that success by bringing the additional six schools into the ACE program next school year.

The new 2017–2018 ACE campuses, and their new principals, are:

  • Thomas J. Rusk Middle School: Principal Juan Cordoba
  • C.F. Carr Elementary School: Principal Carlotta Hooks
  • J.N. Ervin Elementary School: Principal James Wallace
  • Onesimo Hernandez Elementary School: Principal Oscar Aponte
  • Edward Titche Elementary School: Principal Damien Stovall
  • J.W. Ray Elementary School: Principal Sheryl Wilson

Additionally, the district is using this opportunity to combine George W. Carver Elementary School into C.F. Carr Elementary School. The move will provide students and staff with more resources in a new learning environment.

“We have seen a remarkable turnaround at the ACE schools in a short amount of time, so we are thrilled to add these six schools to the program,” Dallas ISD Chief of School Leadership Stephanie Elizalde said. “Dallas ISD is committed to ensuring every student receives a high-quality education, and the ACE program provides extra resources and highly effective teaching for schools that need it the most.”

The ACE program incentivizes top teachers and principals to voluntarily work at the district’s highest-need schools. The program combines effective instruction, additional class time and social and academic skill-building implemented in a culture of high expectations.

The district is actively recruiting high-performing staff members interested in teaching at an ACE school next school year. Interested staff members can learn more about the stipend schedule and ACE program at www.dallasisd.org/ace.

The district will send invitations to high-performing teachers to attend a March 7 teacher reception from 5–7 p.m. at Billy Earl Dade Middle School, 2727 Al Lipscomb Way.

ACE excitement

Given the successes they have personally seen, teachers and staff at the existing seven ACE schools said they are excited about the program’s expansion.

The existing ACE schools are Anne Webb Blanton Elementary School, Billy Earl Dade Middle School, Edison Middle Learning Center, Roger Q. Mills Elementary School, Umphrey Lee Elementary School, and Sarah Zumwalt Middle School.

Dade Middle School Principal Tracie Washington said she often couldn’t believe the enormous positive impact the program has had on the school.

“The ACE program has been a wonderful asset and benefit to our students, our parents and our staff,” Washington said. “One of the key things is building a team that is able to come together with one vision and one goal, knowing that we are our students’ best hope and that is non-negotiable in the work we have ahead.”


About Author