Rotary Club recognizes teachers for going beyond the call of duty


Nine Dallas Independent School District teachers have been named winners of the “Service Above Self Teacher Awards” presented by the Rotary Club of Dallas.

The award is presented annually by the Rotary club to teachers who demonstrate excellence in their profession and go the extra mile to serve students and the community. Divided by grade level, first place winners received a cash award of $2,500, with second place winners earning $800 and third place winners $500. In addition, each winner received a customized plaque and an American flag that had been flown over the U.S. Capitol in their honor and provided by Congressman Pete Sessions.

First Place:

  • Stacy Cianciulli, Rosemont Primary School
  • Emmanuel Malana, Skyline High School
  • Shareefah Mason, Boude Storey Middle School

Second Place:

  • William Adkins, Barack Obama Male Leadership Academy
  • Elsy Serpas, Alex Sanger Elementary School
  • Beth Poquette-Drews, L.V. Stockard Middle School

Third Place:

  • Erin Elliott, Stonewall Jackson Elementary School
  • Elena Bates, W.T. White High School
  • Shaunissy Brown, Fred Florence Middle School

About Author

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD