New ACE school principals announced


There will be new school leaders at the helm of the district’s ACE campuses next school year. The following administrators have been named to serve at the listed ACE campuses beginning next August.

Additionally, two veteran principals have been promoted to executive director in School Leadership. Juan Cordoba, principal of TJ Rusk Middle School, and Damien Stovall, principal of Edward Titche Elementary, will assume their new posts effective May 19.

New ACE Principal ACE Campus Assignment Current Campus Assignment
Miguel Ortega Wilmer-Hutchins Elementary Assistant Principal at Maple Lawn ES
Umoja Turner New Wilmer Elementary Principal at William Blair ES
Rocio Bernal George Truett ES Principal at L.L. Hotchkiss ES
Stephanie Amaya John Neely Bryan ES Principal at John Ireland ES
Lonnie Russell Rufus Burleson ES Principal at Gilbert Cuellar Sr. ES
Shawki Freelon Frederick Douglass ES Principal at Charles Gill ES
Sandra Fernandez Nancy J. Cochran ES Principal at Adelfa Callejo ES
Tara Mays Berry Cedar Crest ES Principal at Everette DeGolyer ES

About Author

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD