2017 grads net UNCF scholarships


Thirty-one Class of 2017 Dallas ISD graduating seniors were recognized this month at a special reception for receiving United Negro College Fund (UNCF) scholarships.

Funds for the UNCF scholarships were raised through Dallas ISD employee donations. Money was collected by feeder pattern, making it a friendly competition to benefit the most students.

The Class of 2017 recipients are listed below with their high schools and intended colleges and universities:

  • Kirsten Arthur, North Dallas HS, Texas A&M Commerce
  • BreAsia Austin, Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet, Dillard University
  • Bri’Anna Bloomer, Wilmer-Hutchins HS, Texas A&M Commerce
  • Parker Campbell, James Madison HS, Prairie View A&M University
  • Aaron Ceballos, H. Grady Spruce HS, UNT Dallas
  • Yadira Cisneros, Bryan Adams HS, UT Arlington
  • Samantha Evans, W.T. White HS, UT Austin
  • Yosiah Fetahi, School of Science and Engineering, Harvard University
  • Lizbeth Fonseca, School of Business and Management, UT Dallas
  • Khorey Henderson, School of the Talented and Gifted, UNT
  • Mebruk Jemal, Hillcrest HS, University of Pennsylvania
  • Da’Nadia Jenkins, Franklin D. Roosevelt HS, Navarro Junior College
  • Zion Lewis, Skyline HS, Texas A&M
  • Alexa Luckey, Booker T. Washington HS, Standford University
  • Tameria Macon, W.W. Samuell HS, McPherson College
  • Xavion Martin, David W. Carter HS, Wiley College
  • Solomon Mitchell, Justin F. Kimball HS, UNT
  • Olivia Nutall, Rosie M. Collins School of Education and Social Services, Florida A&M
  • Samone Oliver, Seagoville HS, UT Arlington
  • George Polk, Barack Obama MLA, Prairie View A&M
  • Rebecca Preciado, School of Health Professions, Texas A&M
  • Gina Rattanakone, Irma Lerma Rangel YWLS, UT Dallas
  • Katianna Richmond, W.W. Samuell HS, UNT
  • Alana Mitchell, Emmett J. Conrad HS, University of Houston
  • Julianna Sweeney, Woodrow Wilson HS, University of Alabama
  • Alexa Sanchez, Moisés E. Molina HS, University of Rochester
  • Gianna Schneider, Dr. Wright Lassiter ECHS, Texas A&M
  • Josef Sorrells, Trinidad Garza ECHS, Morehouse College
  • Tahania Sierra, Thomas Jefferson HS, UT Dallas Independent School District
  • Le’Andra White, South Oak Cliff HS, Prairie View A&M
  • Kametrea Williams, Lincoln HS, UNT

About Author

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD