Trustees honored during School Board Recognition Month


January is School Board Recognition Month and Dallas ISD is celebrating its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district and its students. 

The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is “Forward, Together,” which highlights the collaboration among school leadership, teachers and parents on behalf of students. 

In 2022 under the board members’ leadership, Dallas ISD was given a B rating by the Texas Education Agency and won the 2022 District of Distinction Award from The Texas Art Education Association (TAEA) for the second year in a row. Two district schools earned National Blue Ribbon School awards while two other campuses were selected by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) as projects for the 2022-23 Exhibit of School Architecture

The trustees are as follows:

  • President, Justin Henry, District 9 (South Dallas and parts of Downtown Dallas, Pleasant Grove, Deep Ellum, Uptown, and East Dallas)
  • 1st Vice President, Dan Micciche, District 3 (Northeast Dallas)
  • 2nd Vice President Maxie Johnson, District 5 (Oak Lawn, West Dallas, Wilmer, Hutchins and portions of East Oak Cliff)
  • Secretary, Joe Carreón, District 8 (Northwest Dallas, Love Field, and parts of East and West Dallas)
  • Edwin Flores, District 1(Northwest Dallas, including North Dallas, Addison, parts of Carrollton and Farmers Branch)
  • Dustin Marshall, District 2 (North and Near East Dallas)
  • Camille D. White, District 4 (Parts of Southeast Dallas, Pleasant Grove, Balch Springs, and Seagoville)
  • Joyce Foreman, District 6 (Southwest Dallas)
  • Ben Mackey, District 7 (North Central Oak Cliff, Cockrell Hill, and parts of West Dallas)

Learn more about Dallas ISD’s Board of Trustees on the district website here.


Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version