Seven teachers earn Texas Instruments Innovations in STEM Teaching Award


Seven Dallas ISD teachers were recognized on Dec. 9 with Texas Instruments Innovations in STEM Teaching Awards.

The Texas Instruments (TI) Foundation gave the $70,000 grant to the Dallas Education Foundation, which then provided the award to the teachers.

Seven teachers earn Texas Instruments Innovations in STEM Teaching Award
Superintendent Michael Hinojosa

The awards program honors local secondary math and science teachers from Dallas, Garland, Lancaster, Mesquite, Plano and Richardson ISDs who consistently demonstrate quality instruction and build student achievement in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) subjects.

The Dallas ISD teachers recognized are:

  • Ernest Barlow ~ Dallas Environmental Science Academy (DESA) ~  Technology Applications
  • Kamilah Crouch ~ Skyline High School  ~ Science
  • Tellesha Minter ~  T. J. Rusk Middle School ~ Science
  • Thuy Nguyen ~ Raul Quintanilla Middle School ~ Science
  • Mary Nunley ~ City Lab High School  ~ Mathematics
  • Paul Obele ~ Barbara M. Manns High School ~ Mathematics
  • Tiffany Thomas ~ Sarah Zumwalt Middle School ~ Mathematics

Each honoree receives $10,000, of which $5,000 is directly awarded to the teacher. The other $5,000 is to be used at his or her discretion for professional development or instructional technology.

Dallas ISD Assistant Superintendent Oswaldo Alvarenga

Each year principals nominate teachers for the STEM awards based on criteria, such as demonstrating and documenting teaching effectiveness, establishing classroom innovation, participating in education activities outside the classroom, and encouraging curiosity and increasing interest in STEM subjects among students. Teams within each district review the applications and make classroom observations. After a detailed selection process, the winners are announced.

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version