Two new faces and a runoff in trustee race


The election for two Dallas ISD Board of Trustees seats has been decided. Pastor and longtime activist Maxie Johnson won the District 5 seat vacated by Lew Blackburn. After nearly two decades on the board, Blackburn did not seek reelection to represent the District 5 area, which includes Oak Lawn, West Dallas, Wilmer Hutchins and portions of East Oak Cliff.

Voters also elected former Dallas ISD principal Ben Mackey to fill the District 7 seat held by Audrey Pinkerton, who did not seek reelection. The area covers North Central Oak Cliff and parts of West Dallas.

The top two candidates for the District 4 seat will face each other in a runoff election on June 8. Dallas County Promise staffer Karla Garcia and real estate agent Camile D. White both failed to capture a majority vote in a four-way race for the seat that covers Pleasant Grove, Balch Springs and Seagoville.

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version