Nine Dallas ISD CTE academies net special designations for excellence


Nine Dallas ISD National Academy Foundation academies have achieved special designations this year from NAF among nearly 200 others recognized across the country.

There were more than 100 “Model” schools determined by NAF’s annual assessment. That designation recognizes academies that deliver high-quality educational experiences. Sixty-nine academies in the network reached the “Distinguished” level, which is the network’s highest level of achievement.

2018 Distinguished academies include:

  • W.H. Adamson Academy of Finance
  • Emmett J. Conrad Academy of Hospitality and Tourism
  • Emmett J. Conrad Academy of Finance
  • Emmett J. Conrad Academy of Engineering
  • Emmett J. Conrad Academy of Health Sciences
  • Thomas Jefferson Academy of Finance
  • Thomas Jefferson Academy of Hospitality and Tourism
  • Skyline Academy of Hospitality and Tourism

Also, North Dallas Academy of Information Technology was named a Model academy.

The NAF’s annual assessment measures an academy’s strengths and challenges in implementing the organization’s design and includes site visits. The ultimate goal is to ensure students are receiving the education that will help make them college- and career-ready upon graduation.

The newly recognized academies will be honored at the NAF’s annual conference in July in Washington, D.C.

Dallas ISD has academies that were previously recognized by the NAF for excellence. The district’s Distinguished academies are: Justin F. Kimball Academy of Hospitality & Tourism, Justin F. Kimball Academy of Engineering, Woodrow Wilson Academy of Finance and Woodrow Wilson Academy of Hospitality & Tourism. The district already had two Model academies: Woodrow Wilson Academy of Engineering and Hillcrest Academy of Engineering.

Learn more about Dallas ISD’s NAF academies here.

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version