Register to vote by April 7 to cast ballot in upcoming trustee election


Voters who live in Dallas ISD trustee districts 2, 4, 5 and 7 have an opportunity in the May 7 elections to choose a new board member to represent them.

Residents who are eligible to vote but are not registered to vote have until April 7 to register. Find information here on how to register to vote in Dallas County.

Four candidates are seeking the District 2 seat in a special election to fill the unexpired term of Mike Morath, who was appointed by Gov. Greg Abbott to be Texas Commissioner of Education. The winner will serve the remaining year of the term. Candidates are Mita Havlick, Carlos A. Marroquin, Dustin Marshall and Suzanne N. Smith.

District 4 Trustee Nancy Bingham is not seeking another term. Candidates who have filed for the seat are Omar Jimenez, Jaime Resendez and Camile D. White.

District 5 Trustee Lew Blackburn is seeking re-election, and is being challenged by Marquis Hawkins and Linda M. Wilkerson-Wynn.

District 7 Trustee Eric Cowan is not seeking another term. Candidates who have filed for the seat are Isaac Faz and Audrey Pinkerton.

Early voting in the May 7 election will be April 25-May 3. Find early voting polling locations here.

Polls will be open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Saturday, May 7. Find election-day polling locations by using Dallas County’s Voter Lookup tool here.


The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version