Trustee to head new commission that will develop state assessments


Mike Morath, a Dallas Independent School District trustee, has been appointed by Gov. Greg Abbott as the chairperson of the newly created Texas Commission on Next Generation Assessments and Accountability.

As outlined in House Bill 2804, the commission will develop and making recommendations for new student assessment systems and public school accountability no later than Sept. 1, 2016. Morath, the Trustee for District 2, is one of 10 individuals appointed to serve on the commission.

Morath is chairman of Morath Investments. Previously, he served as president and chief operating officer of Minute Menu Systems. He is also a board member for the Texas Association of School Boards, the Leadership Dallas Alumni Association and the Woodrow Wilson High School Community Foundation.

Other commission members appointed by the governor are Andrew Kim, Theresa Trevino and Quinton Vance. Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick appointed Kim Alexander, Paul Castro and Michael K. McLendon. House Speaker Joe Straus appointed Pauline Dow, Maria Hernandez Ferrier and Catherine Susser.

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version