State Fair of Texas gives scholarships to 55 Dallas ISD graduating seniors


Fifty-five graduating seniors from five Dallas ISD schools were recognized on Tuesday, April 21, for receiving 2015 State Fair of Texas Pete Schenkel Scholarship Awards. This marks the 23rd year of the Fair’s Youth Scholarship Program. The awards are named for a former chairman of the State Fair of Texas board.

Students from the five high schools closest to the fairgrounds were eligible to apply. Each recipient will be awarded $6,000 per year, renewable for up to four years.

Monserrat Moncada, a 2011 graduate of North Dallas High School and a State Fair scholarship recipient, gave her advice based on her four years of studies at SMU.

The ceremony included guest speaker Raul Magdaleno, a graduate of Dallas ISD’s Skyline High School and SMU, who encouraged attendees – students and adults alike – to not give up on their dreams no matter what obstacles exist or what others say.

Clarice Tinsley, news anchor of KDFW-FOX 4, read bios about each student as they were recognized. James C. Roberts, chairman of the State Fair of Texas Scholarship Committee, and Steve Mancillas, Scholarship Committee member, helped present the awards. See additional photos here.

The 2015 recipients are:

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School

BreAnna Aikins
Jocelyne Andrade
Lauren Camarillo
Aislinn Diaz
Brenda Duran
Tania Garcia
Marizabel Garza
Cassandra Gonzalez-Alarcon
Sonia Gonzalez
Pamela Hernandez-Chavez
Stephanie Hernandez
Karla Herrera-Guierrez
Cynthia Martinez
Laura Martinez
Emma Maxwell
Sarahia Oviedo
Rubi Perez
Yasmin Renteria
Abigail Rivera

James Madison High School

Jacqueline Fields
Marquise Gates
Tichina Jones
Kevin Soto
Cierra Thomas
Alexis White
Taylor Wright

Lincoln High School

DeMarcus Johnson
Kasim Kabbara
Rakeshia Wines
Tafari Witter

North Dallas High School

Taylor Bolden
Guadalupe Florencio
Daisy Hernandez
Kerinne Mendoza
Brian Monroy
Shayla Myers
Yolanda Nguyen
Brooke Peek
Jesus Ramirez
Jennifer Rodriguez
Raviola Wenno

Woodrow Wilson High School

Madison Aza
Chloe Carroll
Erin Choi
Nia Delmast
Grant Garcia
Andrew Henery
Caroline Jordan
Cameron Kurzner
Taylor Murray
Meaghan O’Connor
Shelby Patterson
Leslie Scherger
Sandra Vazquez
Zane Wittrock

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version