Dallas ISD counselors honored for service


Counselors representing a variety of campuses are being recognized for their dedication to their students.

Dallas ISD recently held its Counselor of the Year Celebration. Hosted at Fair Park Music Hall, the speaker of the event was Vivian Chandler Fairley, principal of Emmet J. Conrad High School.

During the festivities, Leticia Malena, of Leila P. Cowart Elementary School and Nitzy Ocoro Mosquera, of Emmett J. Conrad High School were each named Counselor of the Year, for elementary and secondary schools respectively. 

“Counselor of the Year Awards recognize the impact that counselors make in developing the whole child in Dallas ISD – socially, emotionally, and academically,” said JoAnn Jackson-Powell, director of Counseling Services. “The tireless work of school counselors is instrumental in creating an educational experience for our students that increases their sense of belonging, wellbeing, and postsecondary options.”

See below for a full list of award winners:

Elementary Counselor of the Year 

  • Finalist – Sylvia Cabrera, William M. Anderson Elementary School
  • Elementary Magnet/School Choice Finalist – Charles Williams Jr., Solar Preparatory School for Boys at John F. Kennedy Learning Center

Secondary Counselor of the Year

  • Finalist – LaKonia Green, L.V. Stockard Middle School
  • Secondary Magnet/School Choice Finalist – Kimberly Smith, School for the Talented and Gifted at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center

Crest Award

Counseling Team at  Emmett J. Conrad High School:

  • Nitzy Ocoro Mosquera (Lead)
  • Nicole Buter
  • Sonya Gilb
  • Jessica Jackson
  • Claudia Rodriguez

 Trailblazer Awards

Elementary Campus of the Year: Mark Twain School for the Talented and Gifted 

Middle School Campus of the Year: Robert T. Hill Middle School

High School Campus of the Year: School for the Talented and Gifted at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center

Rookie of the Year Awards

Elementary School Rookie of the Year: Kameco Andrews, Whitney M. Young Jr. Elementary School

Middle School Rookie of the Year: Veronica Saenz Luna, Eduardo Mata Montessori School

Social Media Influencer of the Year Award 

Elizabeth Contreras, School for the Talented and Gifted in Pleasant Grove

Counselors’ Choice Award

Denise Tucker, Sunset High School


Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version