2016 Principal of the Year awarded to top-tiered administrators


The Dallas Independent School District today announced the winners for the 2016 Principal of the Year award. Officials named four winners during a special ceremony at the Dallas Market Center.

Lisa Lovato at Dan D. Rogers Elementary School (elementary), Clarita Rivera at Young Women’s STEAM Academy at Balch Springs Middle School (secondary) and Sheila Brown of the Rosie M. Collins Sorrells School of Education and Social Services at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center (magnet/special programs) were named the top principal in their respective categories.

In a surprise announcement, Kieshla Wylie of H.I. Holland Elementary School at Lisbon received the Principal’s Choice Award as voted by her peers. The award is presented to the principal who served as a positive influence and example to fellow principals.

There were three elementary level finalists, two at the secondary level, and three from magnet and special programs.

The 2016 Principals of the Year event was sponsored by West and Associates, AXA Advisors, LLC, and Thompson & Horton, LLP.

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version