Newly elected trustees are sworn in


Two new Dallas ISD trustees and one who was re-elected in the May 7 elections were sworn in at the board’s regular meeting on Thursday, May 26.

New members are Jaime Resendez, District 4; and Audrey Pinkerton, District 7. Trustee Lew Blackburn of District 5 was re-elected.

The board also selected new officers: President, Blackburn; 1st Vice President, Miguel Solis (District 8); 2nd Vice President, Joyce Foreman (District 6); and Secretary, Dan Micciche (District 3).

The District 2 seat remains vacant until a runoff election on June 18 between the two candidates who got the most votes, but not a majority, in May. Candidates Dustin Marshall and Mita Havlick are vying for one year left on the unexpired term after Mike Morath left the board to serve as Texas Education Commissioner.

The Board of Trustees establishes the policies by which schools operate. In carrying out the task of setting policy, the board identifies needs and establishes priorities for the school system, allocates financial and human resources among the priority areas, and evaluates school performance. Members are elected to three-year terms.

The Hub

Connecting you to the personalities, places and perspectives of Dallas ISD

Exit mobile version